October 28, 2015 (Revelation)

I had been going through the next couple of days not thinking much about the procedure or the results.  Except when I actaully looked at my boob which looked like it had been hit with a baseball bat.  Lots of bruising resulting from the pushing to get the right tissue for the biopsy.  I felt like a 90 year old lady that get a bruise because the wind blew.  Ah well.

I had just gotten back to my desk after attending a work a baby shower when I saw a missed call from St Francis’ main number on my cell phone.  I listened to the voice mail and it was Deb asking me to give a her call a back.  So I did.  And I got her voicemail.  After a few minutes of telephone tag, we reached each other and she asked me if it was ok to talk.  I was a little nervous but anxious to hear her say that everything was clean.  But that’s not what she said.  She said that the preliminary results had come back and the results were positive for breast cancer.  Invasive Ductal Carcinoma.  I was in a daze.   I listened to everything she was saying but still felt like it wasn’t me sitting in my chair.  She was able to get me a 3 p.m. appointment with Dr. Kim Caprio so we could talk about what this meant and next steps.

I remember hanging up the phone, and Ellen already out of her seat and at my desk giving me a hug.  Of course I started to cry.

Leave a comment